The Day I Became Me

13987550_1268182129858532_6894073132965550164_o

In a world where being accepted by society is everything, trying to standout would be the most unethical thing to do. Underselling ourselves and shattering our confidence only to do what society tells us to do, this is how we survive. I once tried to survive the way society wanted me to. I gave up a lot just to witness the embarrassment in people’s eyes. That was the day I realized that no matter how live, what you do, you can make people happy – the day I stopped caring about people and became the real me.

Emerson-Quote-on-Path

It all started the day I was born. I was taught only to do what was accepted by the society and by the society I mean the people surrounding. My parents, my friends, my teachers, everyone I knew, one way or another wanted to become what society would appreciate. People kept telling me what I can and can’t do. So instead of figuring out my potential myself I did what society wanted me to do and in return I got only criticism. As they say “this has been the worst trade in the history of trades in my life”, but I didn’t know any better so I just kept following society. With the passage of time people started calling me a coward and started telling me I am useless and can’t do anything. i then realized that I have to become what is best for me no matter what anyone says. I had to struggle a lot at first but with time I gained confidence. People started appreciating me and respecting me. That was the time I realized that people are attracted to confidence more than anything. That was the day i realized that people aren’t bad, they are just afraid to go against the flow, and at the same time attracted to the ones struggling for the betterment and going against the flow.

Leave a comment