My life is a journey, not a destination!

If somebody asked me to tell them something about myself, I would probably say I am an “introvert”, “socially awkward”, “very emotional” person and “compliments make me uneasy”. I always say that “Life is a journey and not a destination”, so let’s enjoy each and every moment.

People often expect us to have our lives sorted out by the time we reach our early twenties but this hasn’t been the case for me. At the age of 22, I am still confused about what I want from my life and having a close look at life. I run away from questions like “what do you want to be?” “when will you get married?”

Want to know more about me?

I feel blessed that I was born as Muslim in a country like Pakistan and in a city like Lahore. We Pakistanis are so welcoming and full of love.

Even though I am a very shy person and people sometimes call me an introvert, I still love meeting new people, going on trips, exploring countries, trying new foods. I am most comfortable with my closest friends. I wanted to do architecture from NCA  but ended up doing BBA in marketing and media from Lahore School of Economics.

I love to play sports. I was the volleyball captain of my team in Lahore Grammar School and I am also a part of the LSE sports society.

These are a few pictures from my recent trips to the northern areas of Pakistan and USA.

IMG_5904IMG_5908image3

More about practical life!

I have always been very active socially. I love helping people around me and I feel great when somebody asks me for help.

My first breakthrough event was with “SHE”. SHE is the celebration of womanhood in Pakistan and is a non-profit organization. We collaborate with all the women from all walks of life who motivate others to achieve what they aim for.

IMG_5900.jpgIMG_5898

I have also worked with Barkat Foundation, another non-profit organization that provides free medical treatment to the underprivileged. Even though I didn’t have any medical background at all, I was still part of the medical camps held by Barkat Foundation.

IMG_5901IMG_5902

I am currently working as the Marketing Head at Sultan Bahoo Grammar High School, which is another non-profit organization that provides free education to the underprivileged. My passion to work for the underprivileged has given me many opportunities since the past few years.

IMG_5970

Another important case that gave me the confidence to support other women and speak up  was Khadija Siddiqui’s case, a young girl who was stabbed by a fellow classmate but she survived miraculously. I came to know Khadija after this incident. A group of us, women decided to give Khadija the platform where she could tell everybody her story and ask for justice. After giving her a platform at an event, many people came to know who Khadija Sidddiqui was. I stood with Khadija and we celebrated her victory after the accused was sentenced to jail. Khadija’a case was one of the most popular cases in the history of Pakistan and I feel proud to be a part of it. I, later on made a documentary on Khadija and also got an award for it.

IMG_5910IMG_5905

 

Apart from all this non-profit work, I also have my personal food blog “It’s Gouda” on Instagram. I love doing food photography  and trying different dishes.

thumbnail_IMG_4826IMG_4825

That’s all about ME for now!

Leave a comment